Coyne and Valdivia named Distinguished Professors

Two MGM faculty have been awarded distinguished professorships by Duke University. Appointment to a distinguished professorship is the highest honor the university can bestow upon a member of the faculty, recognizing faculty who are well-established members of the Duke academic community and who have also achieved distinction as creative scholars in their field or in their ability to transcend disciplines.

Carolyn Coyne, PhD, has been named George Barth Geller Distinguished Professor of Immunology.

Raphael Valdivia, PhD, has been named Nanaline H. Duke Distinguished Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology.

Learn more about the 2022 School of Medicine honorees.