AOA Medical Honor Society Members Named

August 29, 2014

DURHAM, NC – Twice a year the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society elects a small number of new members. The criteria include scholastic achievement, leadership capabilities, ethical standards, fairness in dealing with colleagues, demonstrated professionalism, achievement and/or potential for achievement in medicine, and a record of service to the school and community at large. Membership in AOA is a distinction that accompanies a physician throughout his or her career.

In the fall, in addition to students, the society elects a small number of faculty and alumni. The competition is especially stiff for faculty as only three are elected each year: a senior (tenured), junior and alumnus.

Congratulations to the following members of our community who were elected to the Duke University School of Medicine chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society for the fall 2014.

Joseph Heitman, MD, PhD
Allan Kirk, MD, PhD
Sallie Permar, MD, PhD

Inas Aboobakar
Nicholas Berlon
Charles (Russ) Horres III
Matthew Kearney
Whitney Lane
Alexander Lazarides
Michael McNeil
Laura Platt