SECONDARY FACULTY

  • •Department of Biochemistry

Arno GreenleafHeadshot of Arno Greenlea
Investigation of the transcription apparatus in eukaryotes
919-684-4034
arno@duke.edu

 

 

Meta KuehnHeadshot of Meta Kuehn
Associate Professor
Bacterial virulence factor secretion
919-684-2545
mkuehn@biochem.duke.edu

 

 

  • •Department of Biology

Paul M. Magwene Headshot of Paul M. Magwene
Associate Professor
Evolutionary genomics and bioinformatics; systems biology
919-613-8159
paul.magwene@duke.edu

 

Nina Tang Sherwood Headshot of Nina Tang Sherwood
Associate Professor
Regulation of the cytoskeleton in neuronal development and disease
919-684-8658
nina.sherwood@duke.edu

 

Rytas VilgalysHeadshot of Rytas Vilgalys
Molecular analysis of fungal evolution
Professor
919-660-7361
fungi@duke.edu

 

 

  • •Department of Biomedical Engineering
  • Headshot of Lingchong You

 

 

•Department of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics

Raluca Gordân, PhDHeadshot of Raluca Gordân, PhD
Assistant Professor
Mechanisms by which transcription factors are recruited to specific DNA sites
919-684-9881
raluca.gordan@duke.edu

 

Tim Reddy, PhDHeadshot of Tim Reddy, PhD
Assistant Professor
Mechanisms of tissue ­specific gene regulation in in-vivo tissues
919-564-9536
tim.reddy@duke.edu

 

 

•Department of Chemistry

Headshot of Emily R. Derbyshire, PhDEmily R. Derbyshire, PhD
Assistant Professor
Global interrogation of parasite biology
919-660-1511
emily.derbyshire@duke.edu

 

 

•Department of Immunology

Mari ShinoharaHeadshot of Mari Shinohara
Assistant Professor
Impacts of innate immunity on adaptive immunity in infectious and autoimmune diseases
919-613-6977
mari.shinohara@duke.edu

 

Yuan ZhuangHeadshot of Yuan Zhuang
Professor
Genetic and molecular mechanisms of lymphocyte development
919-613-7824
yzhuang@duke.edu

 

 

•Department of Medicine

J. Andrew AlspaughHeadshot of J. Andrew Alspaugh
Professor
Molecular mechanisms of microbial pathogenesis
919-620-5300
andrew.alspaugh@dm.duke.edu

 

Gary CoxHeadshot of Gary Cox**
Professor
Associate Vice-Chair for Clinical Sciences in the Department of Medicine
Fungal pathogenesis
919-620-5300
gary.cox@dm.duke.edu

 

Anna Mae DiehlHeadshot of Anna Mae Diehl
Professor
Liver injury and repair
919-684-1817
annamae.dielh@duke.edu

 

Vance FowlerHeadshot of Vance Fowler
Professor
Identifying determinants of poor clinical outcome in patients with S. aureus bacteremia
919-613-5678
vance.fowler@dm.duke.edu

 

Richard FrothinghamHeadshot of Richard Frothingham
Associate Professor
Yersinia pestis, the bacterial cause of bubonic and pneumonic plague
919-684-3349
richard.frothingham@dm.duke.edu

 

Simon GregoryHeadshot of Simon Gregory
Professor
Director of Genomics and Epigenetics
Genetic and epigenetic factors that give rise to the development of common chronic disease
919-684-0726
simon.gregory@duke.edu

Michael HauserHeadshot of Michael Hauser
Associate Professor
Ocular genetics
919-684-3508
mike.hauser@duke.edu

 

Headshot of Christopher Holley

Christopher Holley
Assistant Professor
Cardiovascular Division
919-668-2688
cholley@duke.edu

 

Mary KlotmanHeadshot of Mary Klotman
Dean, School of Medicine
Professor, Department of Medicine
919-668-1755
mary.klotman@duke.edu

 

Allison Ashley-KochHeadshot of Allison Ashley-Koch
Professor
Genetic dissection of complex human disease including neurologic, psychiatric and hematologic conditions
919-684-1805
allison.ashleykoch@duke.edu

 

John PerfectHeadshot of John Perfect
Associate Professor
Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases
Fungal pathogenesis
919-684-6854
john.perfect@dm.duke.edu

 

Howard A. RockmanHeadshot of Howard A. Rockman
Professor
Molecular mechanisms of heart failure
919-668-2520
h.rockman@dm.duke.edu

 

Headshot of Ephraim Tsalik

Ephraim Tsalik
Associate Professor
Division of Infectious Diseases
919-684-3114
e.t@duke.edu

 

Gregory TaylorHeadshot of Gregory Taylor
Associate Professor
Innate mechanisms of host resistance to infection
919-286-0411
gregory.taylor@dm.duke.edu

 

Aimee Zaas**Headshot of Aimee Zaas
Associate Professor
Genetic basis of host response to invasive pulmonary aspergillosis
919-668-0789
aimee.zaas@duke.edu

 

 

•Department of Pathology

Soman AbrahamHeadshot of Soman Abraham
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies in Pathology
Co-Director of Duke Summer Research Opportunities Program
Role of mast cells in innate and specific immune defense against pathogens
919-684-3630
soman.abraham@duke.edu

 

•Department of Pediatrics

Greg CrawfordHeadshot of Greg Crawford
Assistant Professor
Genome-wide identification and characterization of gene regulatory elements
919-684-8196
greg.crawford@duke.edu

 

Dwight D. KoeberlHeadshot of Dwight D. Koeberl
Associate Professor
Development of adeno-associated virus (AAV) vectors for gene therapy in glycogen storage disease
919-681-9919
dwight.koeberl@dm.duke.edu

 

Sallie PermarHeadshot of Sallie Permar
Professor
Prevention and treatment of neonatal viral infections; prevention and treatment of infectious diseases in immunosuppressed pediatric patients
919-684-6335
sallie.permar@dm.duke.edu

 

Headshot of William J. SteinbachWilliam J. Steinbach
Professor
Co-Director, Tri-Institutional Molecular Mycology and Pathogenesis Training Program
Stress response pathways in Aspergillus fumigatus
919-681-1504
bill.steinbach@dm.duke.edu

 

•Department of Pharmacology & Cancer Biology

Daniel J. LewHeadshot of Daniel J. Lew
Professor
Director, Program in Cell and Molecular Biology
Cell cycle control
919-613-8627
daniel.lew@duke.edu

 

Headshot of Dennis J. ThieleDennis J. Thiele
George Barth Geller Professor
Stress-responsive gene expression and diseases of protein malfolding; role of copper and iron in signaling, growth and development.
919-684-5776
dennis.thiele@duke.edu

 

•Department of Surgery

Guido Ferrari Headshot of Guido Ferrari
Associate Professor
Class I-mediated cytotoxic CD8+ T cell responses, antibody-dependent cellular cytotoxicity (ADCC), gene expression in T cellular subsets upon infection with HIV-1
919-684-2862
gflmp@dm.duke.edu

Matthias GromeierHeadshot of Matthias Gromeier
Associate Professor
Molecular mechanisms of viral pathogenesis and how they can be exploited to devise new treatment strategies for cancer and infectious disease
919-668-6205
matthias.gromeier@dm.duke.edu

 

Bruce A. SullengerHeadshot of Bruce A. Sullenger
Professor
RNA-based molecular therapeutics
919-684-6413
bruce.sullenger@duke.edu

 

Georgia TomarasHeadshot of Georgia Tomaras
Professor
Cellular and humoral immune response to HIV-1 infection and determine the mechanisms of viral immune evasion
919-681-5598
georgia.tomaras@dm.duke.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Chair, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
OHSU School of Medicine

Alejandro Aballay, PhD

 

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Mariano Garcia-Blanco

Elizabeth Cirulli

 

Director of the Institute for Genomic Medicine
Columbia University

David Goldstein

 

Chair of Pediatrics and Physician-in-Chief
The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Leonard and Madlyn Abramson Professor and Chair of Pediatrics
Professor of Microbiology
The Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

Joseph W. St. Geme, III

 

Department of Human Genetics
University of Chicago
President and Director of the Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole, MA

Huntington F. Willard

  • Emeritus Secondary Faculty

Department of Medicine – Infectious Diseases

John D.Hamilton*

Kenneth H. Wilson*

** Secondary Faculty no longer accepting graduate students