Blasi, Han, Saunders Receive School of Medicine Awards

MGM faculty Maria Blasi, Shuo Han, and Kevin Saunders have been named recipients of Duke School of Medicine 2023 Faculty Awards in recognition of excellence in mentorship and research.

Maria Blasi, PhD: Early Career Mentoring Award in Basic Science

The Research Mentoring Awards recognize faculty members in the School of Medicine for excellence in research mentoring. Excellence can be demonstrated in many ways, such as by the accomplishments of individual mentees, by programs implemented by the mentor, or by exceptional creativity in mentoring.

Kevin Saunders, PhD: Ruth and A. Morris Williams Faculty Research Prize

The Ruth and A. Morris Williams Faculty Research Prize was established to advance research opportunities for early career faculty members and is awarded for research excellence demonstrated at Duke. The 2023 Williams Prize recognizes outstanding contributions in basic science research.

Shuo Han, PhD: Whitehead Scholars Program

The Whitehead Scholars Program, supported through a gift from the Whitehead Charitable Foundation, helps attract and nurture the most promising biomedical researchers to the faculty at Duke University School of Medicine.

Click here to read about all the faculty members who were selected as recipients of this year’s School of Medicine faculty awards.