Thomas Petes Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

DURHAM, N.C. — Three members of the Duke University faculty were elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences this week.

The new fellows from Duke are James Samuel Clark, H.J. Blomquist Professor of Biology; Herbert Edelsbrunner, Arts and Sciences Professor of Computer Science and Mathematics, and Thomas Petes, chair of Genetics and Microbiology at Duke University Medical Center.

Clark’s research examines how global change affects forests and grasslands. Edelbrunner’s research focuses on how protein structure affects the function of an enzyme. Petes studies genomic instability and chromosomal abberrations commonly found in cancer cells.

This year, academy members elected 196 new fellows and 17 new foreign honorary members. The 213 men and women are leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs, and include Nobel Prize-winning physicist Eric Cornell of the University of Colorado: Supreme Court Chief Justice William Rehnquist and Steven Squyres, leader of NASA’s Rover program for the exploration of Mars.

Founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots, the academy has elected as fellows and foreign honorary members the finest minds and most influential leaders from each generation. An independent policy research center, the academy undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems. Current academy research focuses on science and global security; social policy; the humanities and culture; and education.

The academy will welcome this year’s new fellows and foreign honorary members at its annual induction ceremony on Oct. 8, at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.