Duke Scholars in Infectious Diseases Program Announces 2010-2011 Scholars

Durham, NC (April 2010) –The Duke Scholars in Infectious Diseases Program (DSID) is pleased to announce the Scholars for 2010-2011. The Scholars are pre-doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows researching basic mechanisms related to infectious diseases, immunology, and microbial pathogenesis. Now entering its second year, the DSID program provides an opportunity for the program participants to gain first hand experience with problems in clinical infectious disease by rotating in the hospital with clinical Infectious Diseases teams, working through clinical problems in a case conference series, discussing clinical and translational research trials through a journal club, and discussing career paths in infectious diseases-related research with guest faculty who are nationally and internationally-recognized for their scientific contributions and for their translation of their work to the clinical arena.

2010-2011 Duke Scholars in Infectious Diseases

Chen Ding
Post-Doctoral Fellow
Dennis Thiele Pharmacology & Cancer Biology
Michael Hast
Post-Doctoral Fellow
Lorena S. Beese Biochemistry
Stephanie Holmers
Pre-Doctoral Student
Jo Rae Wright Cell & Molecular Biology/Cell Biology
Ian McDonald
Pre-Doctoral Student
Meta Kuehn Molecular Genetics & Microbiology/Cell & Molecular Biology
Ryan Michalek
Post-Doctoral Fellow
Jeffrey Rathmell Pharmacology & Cancer Biology
Eric Porsch
Pre-Doctoral Student
Joseph St. Geme Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Maria Traver
Pre-Doctoral Student
Greg Taylor Molecular Genetics & Microbiology

For detailed information, please visit Duke Scholars in Infectious Diseases Program, on the Center for Microbial Pathogenesis web site.