Petes and Cullen Elected 2009 Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology (AAM)

Durham, N.C. (January 2009) – Thomas D. Petes, PhD, professor and chair of the Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, and Bryan Cullen, PhD, James B. Duke professor and director of the Center for Virology in the Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology have been selected as 2009 Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology (AAM).

The American Academy of Microbiology is the honorific leadership group within the American Society for Microbiology. Each year, members of the AAM, known as Fellows, are elected through a highly selective, annual, peer-reviewed process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology.

The Academy serves as a resource to governmental agencies, industry, ASM and the larger scientific and lay communities by convening colloquia to address critical issues in microbiology.  Through its sponsorship of the American College of Microbiology, the Academy certifies outstanding microbiologists and immunologists in clinical and industrial specialties and accredits postdoctoral training programs in clinical and public health microbiology and immunology.  In addition, the Academy manages ASM’s scientific achievement awards program, recognizing outstanding achievement and potential in all areas of microbiology.  The Academy convenes four to five colloquia a year for in-depth analysis of critical issues in microbiology.

Petes and Cullen will be recognized during the 109th ASM General Meeting in Philadelphia, PA in May 2009.
For more information about the American Academy of Microbiology (AAM), please visit their web site at: