Aballay, Goldstein and McCusker Named AAAS Fellows

November 25, 2013

DURHAM, NC — Thirteen leading scientists at Duke University were named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), selected by a panel of their peers from the organization.

The Duke honorees were among 388 fellows from throughout the United States named in recognition of their scientific or socially distinguished work to advance the mission of science. AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and a publisher of peer-reviewed journals, including Science.

“I was delighted to learn that 13 Duke University faculty members were elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and 10 of those individuals are faculty in the School of Medicine,” said Nancy C. Andrews, MD, PhD, dean of Duke University School of Medicine. “This prestigious fellowship, bestowed by their peers, recognizes each of their contributions to science and technology and is a wonderful honor for them and for the School of Medicine and the university.”

The new fellows include Provost Peter Lange, who was one of four scholars selected nationally for the Section on Social, Economic and Political Sciences. Lange, who will step down after 15 years as provost at the end of the academic year, will return to teaching and research where he is one of the nation’s leading scholars of European politics.

Named as AAAS Fellows are:

Alejandro AballayDuke University Medical Center: For work using C. elegans to elucidate the mechanisms underlying host-pathogen interactions and the cell-autonomous and organismal regulation of innate immunity.

Vann BnnettDuke University Medical Center: For contributions to the molecular basis for functional organization of vertebrate plasma membranes, highlighted by pioneering research on the discovery and functions of ankyrins.

David Benjamin GoldsteinDuke University: For distinguished contributions to human genetics and in particular to the genetic study of human disease and responses to treatment.

John H. McCuskerDuke University Medical Center: For pioneering the use of Baker’s yeast for the analysis of quantitative traits.

Yuan ZhuangDuke University Medical Center: For contributions to the field of immunology, particularly for clarifying the mechanisms by which transcription factors control lymphocyte development.

Stephen Lawrence CraigDuke University: For contributions bridging synthetic organic, physical, and materials chemistry, with a particular focus on supramolecular interactions and mechanochemical coupling.

Junfeng (Jim) ZhangDuke University: For contributions in exposure science and public health and for improving the health of millions of people around the world through risk assessment.

Marc G. CaronDuke University Medical Center: For multifaceted contributions to the field of G-protein coupled receptors and their roles in development, addiction and behavior.

Michael B. KastanDuke University: For contributions to the field of cancer biology, particularly for elucidating the signaling cascade that triggers cell-cycle arrest in response to DNA damage.

Robert J. LefkowitzDuke University Medical Center: For work on the biochemistry and pharmacology of GPCRs, and the elucidation of the signaling processes they impact to effect cellular phenotype.

David M. VirshupDuke-NUS Graduate Medical School (Singapore): For contributions in the field of signal transduction, particularly in the areas of protein phosphorylation and Wnt signaling.

James O’Connell McNamaraDuke University Medical Center: For contributions to the field of molecular neuroscience and neuropharmacology of epilepsy.

Peter LangeDuke University: For contributions to comparative political economy, the study of European politics and leadership, and the advancement of higher education.


For additional information, please visit the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) web site.