42nd Jim McGinnis Memorial Lecture – CANCELED

The McGinnis lecture 2020 has been canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic




Please save the date for the next McGinnis lecture which will be held on April 15, 2020 at 4pm with reception to follow in 103 Bryan Research Center. 

The Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology will host the Forty-second year of the Annual Jim McGinnis Memorial Lecture on April 15, 2020. This years speaker will be Dr. Yasmine Belkaid.

The annual McGinnis Memorial Lecture was established by the staff and students of the Departments of Microbiology and Immunology in 1979 to honor the memory of James William McGinnis, Jr., a beloved Duke doctoral candidate working in Bill Joklik’s laboratory who died unexpectedly in a canoeing accident.

Since its inception, the McGinnis lecture program has featured forty-one exemplary speakers, including five Nobel laureates (J. Michael Bishop, David Baltimore, Phil Sharp, Elizabeth Blackburn, and Peter Doherty), twelve Lasker Award recipients (Philip Leder, Leroy Hood, Bruce Alberts, Michael Bishop, Peter Doherty, Phillip Sharp, Ron Evans, Elizabeth Blackburn, James Darnell, Anthony Fauci, Maurice Hilleman, and Stephen Elledge), ten recipients of the National Medal of Science (Leroy, Hood, Bruce Alberts, Michael Bishop, David Baltimore, Phillip Sharp, Robert Weinberg, James Darnell, Anthony Fauci, Maurice Hilleman, and Lucy Shapiro), and thirty-six members of the National Academy of Sciences, including leading investigators in the areas of molecular biology, virology, microbial pathogenesis and physiology, genetics, immunology, vaccines, and RNA biology.

To make a gift to the Jim McGinnis Endowment Fund, please visit the Duke Giving Website.

Click here for a complete list of previous McGinnis Memorial Lecture speakers.