41st Jim McGinnis Memorial Lecture

The Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology hosted the Forty-first year of the Annual Jim McGinnis Memorial Lecture on March 5th, 2019. This year’s speaker was Jeffrey I. Gordon, M.D. Here are some photos from the event taken by 1st year MGM student, Makala Moore: 41st Jim McGinnis Memorial Lecture Pictures

The annual McGinnis Memorial Lecture was established by the staff and students of the Departments of Microbiology and Immunology in 1979 to honor the memory of James William McGinnis, Jr., a beloved Duke doctoral candidate working in Bill Joklik’s laboratory who died unexpectedly in a canoeing accident.

Since its inception, the McGinnis lecture program has featured forty exemplary speakers, including five Nobel laureates (J. Michael Bishop, David Baltimore, Phil Sharp, Elizabeth Blackburn, and Peter Doherty), twelve Lasker Award recipients (Philip Leder, Leroy Hood, Bruce Alberts, Michael Bishop, Peter Doherty, Phillip Sharp, Ron Evans, Elizabeth Blackburn, James Darnell, Anthony Fauci, Maurice Hilleman, and Stephen Elledge), ten recipients of the National Medal of Science (Leroy, Hood, Bruce Alberts, Michael Bishop, David Baltimore, Phillip Sharp, Robert Weinberg, James Darnell, Anthony Fauci, Maurice Hilleman, and Lucy Shapiro), and thirty-five members of the National Academy of Sciences, including leading investigators in the areas of molecular biology, virology, microbial pathogenesis and physiology, genetics, immunology, vaccines, and RNA biology.

To make a gift to the Jim McGinnis Endowment Fund, please visit the Duke Giving Website.

Click here for a complete list of previous McGinnis Memorial Lecture speakers.

McGinnis Student Chair: Zack Holmes

The Jim McGinnis Memorial Lecture is organized by a student committee.

Click here for photos from the lecture